dubai visa

Who Can Still Enter Dubai With a Visa On Arrival?

Starting from March 17, you can no longer get an entry visa for Dubai or any other Emirate of the UAE, due to the current Coronavirus outbreak that has spread worldwide. The decision came from the UEA General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs in an attempt to stop the further spread of the coronavirus.

SIM card e SIM shop

However, according to the Dubai Airport website, this decision does not include the holders of diplomatic passports or anyone whose visa was issued before March 17. It also does not include citizens of countries who are eligible for a Visa On Arrival.

As per an alert on the Dubai Airport website, citizens of the following countries can still receive a visa on arrival at the Dubai Airport, but they will have to undergo additional screening before being allowed in the country:

Andorra Argentina Australia
Austria Bahamas Barbados
Belgium Brazil Brunei
Bulgaria Canada Chile
China Colombia Costa Rica
Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic
Denmark El Salvador Estonia
Finland France Germany
Greece Holland Honduras
Hong Kong Hungary Iceland
Italy (only from Rome) Japan Kazakhstan
Kiribati Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg Macau
Malaysia Maldives Malta
Mauritius Mexico Monaco
Montenegro Nauru New Zealand
Norway Paraguay Poland
Portugal Republic of Ireland Romania
Russia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines San Marino
Serbia Seychelles Slovakia
Slovenia Solomon Islands South Korea
Spain Sweden Switzerland
Ukraine United Kingdom Uruguay
USA Vatican City Singapore


If you are from one of the countries listed abovel, you will still have to go through a thermal scanning process while you pass through customs before you can enter the country.

Citizens from the countries listed below have to undergo thermal screening as well as a nasal swab:

  • Italy
  • Lebanon (until March 16)
  • People’s Republic of China – Beijing
  • Syria (until March 16)
  • Thailand

The Dubai Health Authority’s (DHA) airport medical centre team at Dubai International (DXB) carries this procedure.

See how to get a Dubai Visa on Arrival.

On the other hand, all flights to and from the following countries have been suspended due to the current situation until further notice:

  • Bahrain
  • Iraq
  • Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Italy, except for Rome
  • Jordan
  • Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • The People’s Republic of China (excluding Beijing)
  • Syria
  • Turkey

The UAE is not the only country who is revoking visas and strengthening entry requirements. Just last week, US President Donald Trump issued an entry ban to all Schengen Area countries. India has also temporarily stopped issuing all tourist visas.


Like this? "Sharing is caring!"