Turkey Announces Visa-Free Travel for 6 European Countries

Turkey’s Foreign Ministry announced that citizens of six European countries will be able to travel to Turkey without a visa starting next month.


The visa exemption will be granted to Austria, Belgium, Netherlands, Spain, Poland, and the U.K.

Visa-free travel to Turkey from those countries will begin March 2, 2020, and will be valid for 90 days in every 180 days of visits, according to the announcement.

Turkish Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Hami Aksoy said that Turkey aims to advance tourism potential as well as developing commercial, economic and cultural relations with these countries.

The Foreign Office says: “The Turkish government advise that your passport should be valid for at least six months from the date you enter Turkey and that there is a full blank page for the entry and exit stamps.

More than two million Britons travelled to Turkey in 2019. At present, British travellers must apply online for a permit to travel, which costs US$35 (£27).

Turkey has applied fees to British visitors for decades. In the 1980s, UK tourists had to pay £10 in cash to enter the country.

The move comes as British travellers face much tougher red tape when entering the European Union from 1 January 2021.

Visiting Istanbul? Do not miss:


Like this? "Sharing is caring!"

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More