AT&T extends 5G to all Puerto Rico territories, USVI

AT&T Puerto Rico has finalised the rollout of 5G networks across the territory and extended the service to the US Virgin Islands, reports local daily El Nuevo Dia, citing general manager Jose Juan Davila.


SIM card e SIM shop

After launching 5G services using the in the 850MHz band in 58 Puerto Rico localities in June, the company has now activated the network on the island municipalities of Vieques and Culebra, as well as in the main US Virgin Islands of St. Thomas, St. Croix and St. John.

The carrier says that this takes its 5G coverage to a total of 355 markets, reaching 179 million people.

In parts of some markets, AT&T has enabled dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) technology which allows carriers to share the same channel between both 4G and 5G users simultaneously, based on demand, creating a seamless experience for customers.  Through DSS, AT&T can deploy 5G faster and more efficiently to help more customers take advantage of 5G technology, sooner. This technology helps create an intelligent and robust network for customers.

“DSS is an important steppingstone on our path to nationwide 5G,” said Igal Elbaz, SVP of wireless and access technology. “We were the first U.S. carrier to deploy this technology in our network, and it’s now playing an important role as we work toward a nationwide 5G footprint this summer.”

It is a slight stretch to call it 5G without an asterisk, however, as it uses a low-band 850MHz spectrum, but at least it’s not complete nonsense like ‘5G E.’

A recent comparison of 5G speeds and availability from different carriers found that AT&T offered one of the slowest average speeds, at 62.7Mbps, only beating T-Mobile’s 47Mbps. Verizon’s mmWave 5G was fastest, but the very limited availability means you’ll only be able to connect to it about 1% of the time.

The new places to get AT&T 5G service are:


1. Ouachita County


1. Melbourne

2. Miami

3. Orlando

4. West Palm Beach


1. Austin

2. Dallas

3. Navarro County

4. Victoria

5. Wilson County


1. Idaho County



1. Alton-Granite City


1. Jackson


1. Columbia


1. Chippewa County

North Dakota/Minnesota

1. Fargo-Moorhead


1. Eugene-Springfield


1. Salt Lake City


1. Crawford County

Puerto Rico

1. Aguadilla

2. Aibonito Municipality

3. Arecibo

4. Mayaguez

5. Ponce

6. Rincon Municipality

7. San Juan


1. Lake County


1. Maui County


Like this? "Sharing is caring!"