U.S. citizens traveling to Europe will have to apply for a visa to enter several European countries

Image by jaydeep_ on Pixabay

Effective January 1, 2021, all Americans traveling to a European Schengen-zone country will be in need of an ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) visa. These countries include:


  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Spain
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Similar to other countries and regions in the world, Europe has recently decided to improve their security level to avoid any further problems with illegal migration and terrorism. Hence the newly developed ETIAS visa.

Screen Shot 2019-02-27 at 12.39.47 PM

To obtain the Europe Visa for Americans, US citizens age 18 and over will need to have a valid passport (that must be valid for at least 3 months beyond the period intended to stay), a credit or debit card and an email account. They’ll need to complete an online ETIAS registration (which is said to be a quick and simple process) with their their contact details and passport information, as well as answer some basic security questions regarding topics such as:

Drug use
Human trafficking
Travel to conflict areas
Criminal history
Employment history
Past European travel information
Security information

With this, the European immigration and customs authorities will be able to to pre-screen all travelers and confirm their status before allowing them entry into the country (or even to board a flight).


Other restrictions and regulations that are similar to ones already on the books, regarding carrying weapons, importing and exporting large quantities of tobacco, alcohol or perfume, and declaring large amounts of currency will also be in place.

Source Your mileage may vary
You might also like

Leave A Reply