Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Mercosur countries sign deal to end roaming charges


The Mercosur countries have signed a formal agreement to eliminate roaming charges across the member countries. The agreement was signed at the latest meeting in Santa Fe, Argentina, by the government heads of Paraguay, Uruguay, Brazil and Argentina.


Traveling to South America? Get Alertify SIM card.

The agreement still needs to be ratified by the national parliaments before it takes effect. Once in place, the deal means the over 185 million mobile users in the countries will no longer pay extra when roaming in another Mercosur country.

Argentina’s regulator Enacom said a meeting is planned in September, in Asuncion, with the regulators of all four countries and the telecom operators in order to prepare for implementation of the decision. The operators must make new commercial agreements to allow for the new pricing.

No estimate has given when the change will become active.

Leave A Reply



Click our representative below to chat. Our support is for Alertify services only and all other inquires would be ignored.

× How can we help you?