best European cities for digital nomads

Georgia Launches Digital Nomad Visa For Remote Workers

Georgia, a nation smack-dab between Europe and Asia, has announced the official launch of their much-anticipated Digital Nomad Visa program, called “Remotely From Georgia.” digital nomads georgia

SIM card e SIM shop

If 2020 brought us anything beneficial, I would have to say it’s the new global excitement of being able to work remotely, and not necessarily having to be chained to one office. Many nations are starting to realize just how big the remote working community is, and with the latest changes to all our lifestyles, how much bigger it will grow.

Georgia, a country that has always been attractive to slow travelers due to their long-stay rules, has now officially launched their Digital Nomad program.

“Remotely From Georgia” will allow remote workers to stay and legally work their online businesses for at least 180 days and up to 1 year, with no annoying visa runs. It also works well for entrepreneurs, business owners, and even salaried employees who are cleared to ‘work from home’.

This program also has a major perk that allows applicants to circumvent the current COVID-related entry requirements that ban most of the world from entering Georgia at the moment.

Since only 5 nations (Germany, France, Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia) can enter Georgia right now for tourism, the Digital Nomad Visa will allow residents from countries like USA and Canada to gain permission to go.

The Prime Minister himself, Giorgi Gakharia, even tweeted about the program earlier today:

What to know before applying to Digital Nomads Georgia the programme

‘Remotely from Georgia’ is designed for freelancers, full-time employees or business owners who are able to stay in Georgia for at least 360 days without a visa per their passport or other travel document.

A citizen of a foreign country who seeks to enter Georgia long-term will have to fill out a mandatory application form available at www.stopcov.ge and obtain preliminary confirmation required for border crossing.

While filling out the application, individuals will first select what type of application form he/she is filling out and choose from the list whether they are a freelancer, a full-time employee or an entrepreneur (business owner). Then an individual should provide personal information such as name, surname, passport number, nationality, country of residence, phone number, e-mail, date of birth, passport/residency copy, marital status and whether he/she is going to travel to Georgia alone or not.

Also, they must prove they have the financial ability to pay taxes while staying in Georgia and should have a minimum monthly salary of $2,000.

After filling and sending in the application, if a foreigner is granted permission to travel and work from Georgia he/she must undergo mandatory 12-day hotel quarantine at his/her own expense. After quarantine he/she will undergo PCR testing, and if no signs of coronavirus are apparent, he/she will be able to remain in Georgia. digital nomads georgia

Also, a foreigner must have health insurance for the period of time that he/she is going to spend in Georgia.

The 95 countries included in digital nomads Georgia are:

Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Albania, Androa, Antigua and Barbuda, the United Arab Emirates, Argentina, New Zealand, Barbados, Bahrain, the Bahamas, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Territories of the Kingdom of Denmark – Faroe Islands and Greenland, the United Kingdom, the Overseas Territories of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland – Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Falkland Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, Gibraltar, Isle of Man, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Ecuador, Spain, Estonia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Japan, Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, Ireland, Iceland, State of Israel, Italy, Canada, State of Qatar, Cyprus, Colombia, Korea, Costa Rica, Latvia, Lithuania, Lebanon, Principality of Liechtenstein, Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Mauritius, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Moldova, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands – Aruba and the Netherlands Antilles, Kingdom of Norway, Sultanate of Oman, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian federation, Hellenic Republic, South Africa, San Marino, Kingdom of Saudi, Arabia, France, Territories of the French Republic – French Polynesia and New Caledonia, Seychelles, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Armenia, Kingdom of Thailand, Tajikistan, the United States, Uzbekistan, Ukraine, Hungary, Finland, State of Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Kingdom of Sweden, Swiss Confederation, Czechia, Holy See, Croatia and Honduras.


Like this? "Sharing is caring!"